Guildford: a couple of pics

Cathedral from the Castle (9799)

First of all: Happy New Year everybody! Christmas has come and gone, and so did the holidays. I really hope you had a good one and we all hope for the best for ’15. 2014 has not been one of my best years but I got through. Phew. Now the only way to look is onwards so let’s go.

Flowers on the hill (9806)

Having said that, I apologise for the lack of posts this week. I am still recuperating from a bad bout of flu with a very frustrating cough to back it up. I do have some recipes lined up but this year I have decided to be more diverse in what I write. No fear – the recipes will keep on coming, however I don’t spend all my time in the kitchen so I want to take my camera out into the world a little bit more and post more pics here. I hope you don’t mind it that much, especially if you come here looking for cooking tips. You will continue to find them, I can vouch for that. I’ve got so many from last year that are still waiting to be published. You will find a little more variety, that’s all. At least, that’s my plan.

I cannot really focus that much today, as my head is still in a fuzz, so I thought that posting a couple of photos I took during my last walk into Guildford will be good to get me going. There were other photos in my edit folder, but these two are the best I could take that day. It was very bittersweet and after a little while I decided to put down my camera and just let the atmosphere sink in, if you know what I mean. The last day was as surreal as the first day in London. I still can’t get my mind around the last seven years. Do you get that feeling sometimes? Let me know.

The first photo is of the view everyone takes from the Castle. I love Guildford Cathedral. Whenever we saw it from the A3 I knew we were home. And that, to me, is the best feeling in the world. I wonder if that will be what I think in a few weeks’ time. I cannot wait to be back for a few days and see my friends. I just cannot wait.

The second picture is just of a few wild flowers on the hill around the Castle. It was very windy and since I’m not an expert at this thing I found it tough to take a good shot. I needed J for a few tips but he wasn’t there so I had to wing it. I think it’s a pretty one and I just couldn’t resist taking a few flower photos.

Rob.

 

3 thoughts on “Guildford: a couple of pics”

Leave a comment

