Chocolate and Banana Muffins

Chocolate-and-Banana-Muffins-(6355)

Making muffins (when I get the hang of it) is one of the most enjoyable things. You see, I find that they give me more excuses to bake…well, not that I *need* many of those. When they’re done well (and I’m not necessarily referring to myself here) they are little parcels of joy, perfect for an afternoon treat for you and for friends. I also have a thing for muffin cases. (Ask J about it – he’ll go on forever!)

Some time ago I received a lovely message from one of my readers asking me for this recipe when I posted a picture of these baked goodies on my Facebook page. I made these chocolate and banana muffins, (adapted from Nigella’s Kitchen) a bunch of times and they always turn out great…and the more I make them, the more I love them. Perhaps it’s because they are so simple and take minutes to prepare, with no fancy gadgetry; bowl, fork, whisk, spoon and muffin tin and you’re set. You can prepare the batter while chatting to your friends or listening to music – that’s how I do it anyway, and it’s a perfect way to spend an afternoon. You will need:

  • 2 very ripe bananas
  • 125ml vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 100g light brown sugar
  • 225g plain flour
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder, sifted
  • 1½ teaspoon baking powder
  • one 12 muffin tin, lined with muffin cases or parchment paper cut in squares
  1. Preheat the oven to 175ºC and prep the muffin tin.
  2. Mash the bananas in a medium-sized bowl with a fork or even with your clean hands. Take a whisk and beat the vegetable oil, eggs, vanilla extract and sugar with the bananas. Now take a wooden spoon (to avoid over-beating) and slowly add and mix the flour, sifted cocoa powder and baking powder. Your mixture should be lumpy.
  3. Tip each muffin case with some of the batter, dividing it into 12, and bake for around 20 minutes. Keep an eye on them to avoid burning. (I always take extra care when making muffins, I use to burn muffins a little bit more than I liked! But I’m getting there!) They should be done when their surface bounces back to the touch but insert a skewer in one of them to be sure.
  4. When the muffins have cooled for a little while in the tin, just take them out onto a rack, ready to cover in buttercream if you like.

Enjoy and as always Happy Baking!

Rob x

3 thoughts on “Chocolate and Banana Muffins”

Leave a comment

