Instant Chocolate and Orange Mousse from “Nigellissima”

Orange-and-Chocolate-Mousse-(6353)

I wasn’t going to write about this recipe now, well at least for the coming few weeks, but yesterday I’ve noticed that some of my readers were looking for it through this blog. These days I found myself more and more drawn to Nigellissima; you see, even though it’s not my favourite book, I will always be a fan of Nigella, and I did say that the puddings and cakes in Nigellissima (or at least those that I have been making) are very very good. And I had no doubt about that. I will not be trying any more of the savoury stuff, just because in my humble opinion there are much better books out there which cater for the Italian foodie. So I don’t think you will find anything other than the puddings here, but that is not to say that I will never write about the other things, just because I cannot predict the future. You know I will always rave about the sweet stuff…

So one of my latest favourites is the Chocolate and Orange Mousse. Now don’t tell me that this is too sweet for you – the chapter is called Sweet Things so you have been warned. If you don’t want to faff about so much in the kitchen, or you just don’t have the necessary time (you really don’t need much though) to make the one in Nigella’s latest publication, you will find that the one in Express is very similar in richness, takes less time and ingredients to make, but will still give you great results. However I prefer the orange and chocolate one. Short cut ingredients may help you in the long run, but if you want to make something really really good you must take your time. I’m glad I tried this, and now I really don’t see the need for the mousse in Express anymore, just because this could just be *it*. It’s light, airy and fluffy, and the orange and chocolate combo reminds me of the festive season, so I will definitely make this again, perhaps for Christmas lunch. It just needs to sit in the fridge for a while, and you can also make it the day before so less stress. Individual portions also makes life a lot easier. Just what the doctor ordered. (It is also free of eggs, which is good to know for people with allergies.)

You can find the recipe here, on my blog. Enjoy!

Rob x

2 thoughts on “Instant Chocolate and Orange Mousse from “Nigellissima””

    1. I’m so sorry about that. Since Nigellissima has just been published, I feel that I cannot give many of the recipes myself. And it’s not on nigella.com either – it would have been easier if it were. Thank you for dropping by.

Leave a comment