Mortar and Pestle

Coriander Seeds and Salt (7365)

I hope you will forgive me for not posting any new recipes this week. I planned to today but unfortunately I don’t really feel well. Woke up this morning with the sniffles again and a sore, scratchy throat. I am currently on a lemon ginger tea marathon which I’m sure will continue throughout the weekend. I hope to satisfy some of my readers interested in photography though by giving you this image.

I am constantly learning and boy have I got a long way to go! I am constantly in search of old school kitchen objects; I think they look so good in photos. In an ideal world I would have good looking tools in my kitchen – and with that I don’t mean having new things. Nope – I just mean used, distressed dishes and stuff – things which are now being categorised as “vintage”. Don’t we just love that word, perhaps a little bit too much I would add, but you know what I mean! Recently I helped my lovely mummy (yes, I still call her ‘mummy’) spring clean her kitchen back in Malta and as it happens she found some baking tins lurking at the back of a random cupboard she wasn’t using anymore. She washed and dried them, put everything in a bag and handed them to me. I was thrilled.

Now my mortar and pestle, and the sometimes yucky-looking chopping board (because let’s face it, it would impossible to keep a common plastic board, or any wood block for that matter, looking immaculate if you cook), are something I use constantly. I use my mortar and pestle to crush salt, pepper and seeds. I’m not a snob when it comes to ingredients, as long as they are fresh and good, and I use free-range and organic whenever I can, but I must say I try to avoid table salt, since the taste can be somewhat artificial; so I prefer using course salt. I will definitely *not* tell you go buy this brand or that brand, because you don’t need to use any “finezzi”, as we say in Maltese – loosely translated as “finery”. (Please correct me if I’m wrong.) I crush whatever I need whenever I need it: I don’t use huge amounts at one time so it’s practical, at least for me it is. And I still find Maltese salt as one of the best kinds I have ever tried.

So please take this photo as it is, taken as I was doing another million-and-one things – I don’t even remember what I was cooking at the time. I think that it is at least decent, and that’s why I put it up. You have *no idea* how many photos end up in my virtual bin! Enjoy and I certainly welcome any critique! (*Wink wink* PhotoSoc.)

Rob x

Leave a comment

