Easy Shakshuka

easy-shakshuka-0631I’m never in the mood for complicated dishes. More so right now. I was out all morning/early afternoon running errands. Carrying all the grocery shopping up the stairs isn’t how I would like to spend the first part of this Valentine’s Day but there you go. I don’t expect anything else mind you, I like when my days are full with things to do, although I must say today I feel somewhat under the weather, after a few sleepless nights. I’ve tried everything, from a calming brew of herbal tea to lavender essential oil, but nothing seems to work. Part of it is that my mind just doesn’t stop and I’m finding it so hard to wind down at the end of the day. Some of this comes with keeping on with my reading, writing, thinking and jotting down mental notes throughout the day, especially late into the evening. I know some of my readers and blogger friends are nodding in firm agreement. I can almost hear and see you my friends. I find a kind of gentle reassurance in that, although I do wish everyone plenty of peace and rest. Always.

The idea of posting my easy peasy shakshuka recipe today came from the copious amounts of articles about eggs I’m reading at the minute. Eggs are versatile, nutritious and make a quick meal. There has been plenty of hulabaloo around eggs, which I won’t go into. What I am concerned about is safety when handling them.

Also one thing I learnt from one of my favourite cooks, the delightful Ina Garten, is to crack individual eggs in ramekins before pouring them into whatever you’re doing. Only once have I come across a bad egg, but my cake batter was spared. It’s better to throw away one egg instead of everything else.

There are plenty of recipes for shakshuka. Some are fancy, some are simple. Mine is extra simple with just a handful of pantry ingredients. This is how I make it after a tiring day. Scale it up or down, it’s up to you. Serve it with fresh, crusty bread. A must.

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 large clove of garlic, thinkly sliced or minced
  • ¼ teaspoon or less dried chilli flakes
  • 400ml chopped tinned tomatoes or polpa di pomodoro
  • 1 level tablespoon sugar
  • salt (optional)
  • pepper
  • 4 eggs

Put a large shallow heavy-based pan on medium heat. Allow it to heat up and pour in the olive oil.

Add the chopped onion and garlic and let them sweat. When the onion turns translucent add the dried chilli flakes, chopped tinned tomatoes and sugar.

Add a pinch of salt and pepper, to taste if needed. Let it bubble away.

Crack the eggs one by one in a ramekin and pour each of them carefully into the tomato sauce around the pan. Let them poach in the sauce until the egg white is done and the yolk is done but still runny.

Eat heartily with plenty of crusty bread dipped into the eggs and the tomato sauce.

Enjoy!

Save

Save

Leave a comment

