Places to Eat: Keops

img_20160913_204703I am blessed to have great friends. They are good people who fill my life with joy and serenity, and having no brothers nor sisters, they’re my support system and my tribe. You can count my friends with one hand but they’re all I need. They are honest, trustworthy, loyal, dependable and non-judgemental. And total foodies. I almost ‘heard’ you trying to guess and you were completely right. So M suggested a great place we could try for a lovely meal and a long catch-up chat. It was so good, we went there twice in matter of a few weeks.

img_20160913_204419Keops is one of the latest additions to quite a number of restaurants at the Valletta Waterfront. The interior is clean and modern, verging on too modern. If that’s your thing then you’ll be in your own little heaven. I think that modernness lends itself well to drinks and nibbles but not so much to the food. However, if the interior doesn’t strike you, the food will, which is why we have dinner there anyway.

img_20160913_220558There’s a menu brimming with goodies, but we just let chef Danilo cook for us. And there are no regrets. First came a selection of seafood, among which were king prawns and calamari. Also a beautifully made Italian peperonata and bite-sized lampuki patties. I’m still dreaming about the squid ink gnocchi though, which were definitely my favourite. It truly felt like eating melt-in-your-mouth little clouds. The seafood pasta didn’t disappoint. And the first time round dessert was almond parfait, tiramisú, and almond crème caramel.

img_20160913_225909My Instagram photos definitely do not do any justice to any of this, which is one of the reasons I wish, really really wish that they opened for lunch during the week. I wouldn’t care doing the extra walk to and fro the city centre for that. I would even sit on the front steps eating a basket of their fresh bread made on site by Sebastiano. For now they don’t. Such a pity. There’s always the weekend though.

For our second visit we had big helpings of calamaretti fritti, octopus (carpaccio and also cooked), stuffed calamari and pan-fried sarde with a delicious batter. I don’t usually like sarde but now I do. For dessert my friends had the almond parfait and I had millefoglie, so inviting I totally forgot to take a picture. I can apply that to everything really.

Thanks to my friend M for giving me her photos and letting me use a few for the collage. The rest are taken with my mobile. They are not that great but they do give you an idea of what you can expect.

Extra notes: Book your table if you plan to go during the weekend. A typical dinner will set you back around €40 pp. Of course prices vary depending on what you order.

Keops did not pay me in any way, shape or form for this blog post. Although this post was written with up-to-date information, the contents of the menu and all prices may and can be changed by the restaurant. I make no assurances of any kind (expressed or implied) about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability of any information, products, services or related graphics contained within this post. Nor am I giving any legal, medical and/or professional advice.

**Update: Word has reached me that Keops has closed, at least for the time being. I will add any updates as they reach me. Contact me if you have any queries. (April 2017)**

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “Places to Eat: Keops”

  1. I have eaten here in quite a few occasions and agree with Roberta about the food which is truly delicious. Having also tried the pizza and some meat dishes, I must say that this place has become my absolute favourite

Leave a comment

