Book Review: Build Your Own Smoothie

byosm-smoothie-apple-logo-higher-01

“Please don’t make me choose just one!”

When people ask me about what I enjoy most about having a food blog, this is my unequivocal answer. If I had to choose something for just one day only – today – it would be, any guesses…you got it. Books. I just love to see what’s out there. It doesn’t really matter if they’re old or new, I can spend hours browsing the cookery section in Waterstones, and if I could I would spend days in a second hand bookshop. The hidden treasures are endless.

Whether I buy a book, or whether I get sent one, doesn’t really matter in many ways. The only thing is that when I choose to purchase one myself, I would have usually done the necessary research, so it’s bound to be good. That’s an easy one to review. On occasion, very rarely, but it happens, I do get sent what I think are the not-so-good ones, which many times I set aside, and forget about them. I won’t forget this one so easily though. In fact, it will stay permanently in my kitchen, since I’m getting the feeling I will use it frequently. Or perhaps everyday.

chocolate-caramel-coffee-smoothieMichelle Keogh’s Build Your Own Smoothie is what I need right now. And I have a feeling it will be widely loved. Apart from smoothies and juices apparently being a thing right now, I myself am stuck in a rut when it comes to whipping my own. I don’t see the point of going to a regular juice bar everyday and paying a ridiculous amount of money for one. There’s nothing wrong with that per se; I’m definitely not saying that, but how fantastic would it be to open a nifty little book and being able to mix and match the combos yourself?

peach-raspberry-smoothieThe layout of the book, which I think is just ace. It’s in a binder form, a neat spiral bound volume, measuring approximately 20x17x1cm. I know, very handy, right? Meaning you can take it anywhere, and fits in your pocketbook like a dream. The page is cut into three: a boost (being the topping, mainly seeds, nuts and dried fruit), a base (the flavour, consisting primarily of fresh fruit and vegetables) and a liquid (all kinds of milk, tea, coffee and juices). There are 40 choices in each section. It’s up to you what you do with them. You can either work through them consecutively or pick whatever you want in each section. Quick and easy.

There’s a photo for every recipe and on every page and at the back of the book you’ll find a number of suggested combinations together with basic methods for making your own flavoured yoghurt, varieties of milk and a little note on what to buy if you’re interested in a juicer. Everything is clear and straightforward.

This book is a perfect bonus item to get if you or anyone you know is in the market for a juicer. A gift perhaps? They’ll thank you for it.

Build Your Own Smoothie by Michelle Keogh is published in the UK by Apple Press, RRP £9.99.

All images are used with permission from the publisher and copyright holder.

The book and press release were sent to me by Apple Press, part of Quarto Publishing Group UK.

(This is not a sponsored post.)

Save

Save

Save

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Build Your Own Smoothie”

  1. How fun! Of late, Owen is really into smoothies. This would be a great addition to my collection! (And I need to check what’s going on with my reader, because I haven’t been getting your posts!)

  2. I spend many hours in bookshops – both new and second hand. While I got my own Kindle, it’s never like holding a book. I do have quite a few cookery books, but not a smoothie one yet, so I might just try this one out! Mine vary from Morgan Freeman’s Caribbean recipe book, to Thai, Malaysian, Arabian … or else simple European stuff that inspires me when I’m low on ideas and find I am cooking the same things all the time! Thanks for the tip!

    1. That’s quite the collection you have there. You’re right: nothing compares to the real thing. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to connect. Have a great weekend.

  3. I can vouch for the second hand bookshop thing 😁. Not that I mind, I’ll happily spend that day with you there…

Leave a comment

