Roast Courgettes and Tomatoes

Roasted Courgettes and Tomatoes (0653)I am feeling better today, enough to be able to sit for a while at my desk editing a bunch of photos accumulated on my camera during March. There were quite a few and thought I would post one of my favourites. I have been absent from C&T and have missed blogging a lot. I find myself constantly thinking about how I can improve my writing and perhaps upping the frequency of posting new content. My cooking style is simple, the simpler the better, for various reasons. I don’t like to send people browsing for strange ingredients which are hard to source. The litmus test for this is myself. If I can’t find something at my local supermarket/grocery shop I discard the recipe. Running all over the place for a handful of ingredients is not my thing. So I try to find ways to make easy-to-find ingredients as interesting as possible.

Lately I have been roasting everything…everything as in veggies in particular. Anything that can be plonked onto a roasting dish and into the oven is a dream. All I need to have to hand is plenty of olive oil, salt and pepper, any of my favourite spices or herbs (although lately I don’t even add those) and I’m done. Seriously I could just live off this stuff. Good crusty bread is optional but it does sneak cheekily onto my kitchen table many times! The simplest things in life are the best. Don’t you think so too? Roasted tomatoes remind me so much of my childhood. According to my mum I just loved them. These quantities serve 2 people as a side, but you can scale it up (or down if you so wish) for more.

Regarding the use of olive oil, as a rule of thumb I use the regular kind for cooking or baking, and extra virgin in salads, or salad dressings, and for dipping bread. In general for food that will not be cooked; main reason being that the latter is more flavourful, but to be honest I’ve never had any problems roasting veggies with EVOO when I didn’t have the regular type to hand.

  • 1 – 2 courgettes, as many as you like, washed, top and tailed and chopped into rounds
  • 2 tomatoes, washed and cut in half
  • regular olive oil,
  • coarse salt
  • freshly ground pepper

Preheat the oven to 200°C.

Wash the courgettes and tomatoes in cold water and pat them dry with a clean tea towel. Chop them and tip them in a big mixing bowl and liberally pour in some regular olive oil.

Using your clean hands mix the vegetables with the olive oil. Make sure that all the vegetables are covered well with a thin layer of oil. Season with salt and pepper and give everything a good mix once again.

Tip the veggies on a non-stick roasting tray and place in the oven for around 40 minutes. They will take a little time to roast but it will be worth the wait. Keep an eye on them and I would suggest to give them a little nudge with a spatula after 20 minutes just to make sure they won’t stick to the tray when they’re done.

Serve as a side with grilled steak or chicken, or even pasta, but I love to eat them on their own too with some crusty bread.

Enjoy.

Rob.

**After reading this, my friend Maria gave me a tip for those who want to try roasting under the grill. Slice the veggies a little thinly that you usually do (if you usually like them thickly sliced). Place them onto a non-stick baking tray, spray them with a little oil and place them under the grill. Turn them a couple of times and they’ll be done in around 15 minutes.

One year ago: Broad Bean Risotto

Two years ago: Lemon and Polenta Drizzle Cake

Three years ago: Nigella’s Holiday Hot Cake

Four years ago: Maltese Baked Rice

Five years ago: Strawberry Crumble

10 thoughts on “Roast Courgettes and Tomatoes”

  1. I love the way roasting extracts the sweet deliciousness from vegetables. And I am such a fan of eggplant! This sounds lovely, especially with the recommended side of crusty bread! But mostly I’m glad to hear you are feeling better!

      1. Mmmm! I love a good crusty bread too! I wish we had a good bakery close by… If I had half decent bread making skills I’d be tempted to open one!

Leave a comment

