Sissinghurst Castle and Garden #1

Up Close (9163)

I usually leave non-foodie pics for the weekends, and I was going to do exactly that this week. However, as I was doing some light editing, I concluded that including all the photos from our day trip to Sissinghurst in Kent was going to be a tad too much for just one post. So these are the first few. I will include the rest in the next one. I hope you will bear with me.

Daffodils (9178)

Visiting Sissinghurst Castle has been on my to-do list ever since coming over to the UK. I had only read a handful of literature about it before visiting, and one of the few things I knew was that somehow it was connected to Virginia Woolf. The Castle belonged to Vita Sackville-West and her husband, Harold Nicolson. It was given to the National Trust in the 1960s.

View from the Tower (9146)

We visited on the first day it opened it’s doors once more for the year. There wasn’t much growing in the gardens, and yet we still took many pictures. It is a stunning place, and I cannot imagine how lovely it will be in a few months’ time.

Gardens (9150)

Climbing to the top of the tower is a must. There’s Vita’s study to be seen from behind a gate, but the view is just gorgeous.

Spot the Robin (9157)

The sun was out, the birds were singing, and I managed to take a not-so-good photo of a robin perched on the head of a statue. It turned out to be a bit rubbish, so that’s why you will not find it here. I took almost all the photos with my fixed lens, but of course this was not good enough for the birds. Robins are cute little things, but so territorial like you wouldn’t believe. If you see one tapping its beak against your shoes, perhaps while sitting on one of the benches enjoying the sunshine, it’s not being cute as in sweet. That means the bench is his. And he wants you to leave.

Vegetable Garden Entrance (9205)

As we walked around the vegetable gardens I made a mental note to return in May, or better during the first week of June.

Rob.

3 thoughts on “Sissinghurst Castle and Garden #1”

Leave a comment

