Carrot and Raisin Salad

Carrot Salad (7001)

Non-lovers of dried fruit look away now. Before pointing a finger at you, please let me tell you that I have the other four pointing at me. Yes. Me. I remember hating any form of dried fruit even as a child. And sultanas and raisins were a fiend. The real enemy though was and still is candied peel. I always say that if James Martin ever asks me (not that he ever will btw) what’s my food hell, that would be my answer. Absolutely revolting stuff.

However before you start wincing even before reading the title, hear me out because you’re in for a surprise, especially if you like sweet and sour as a pairing. It is strong though due to the vinegar. Unfortunately my photo doesn’t do this little salad any justice. I took the one above before I got the hang of a better way to take pictures in my kitchen. Kindly bear with me.

You should be able to make this with some staples from your food cupboard in addition to fresh carrots, and you could even leave out the white wine vinegar, but I think you do need that sour hit. I like to have this as a staple so I suggest you include it. J was the first to point this recipe out to me. I had my doubts mind you but he made it one day as one of the sides while grilling some steaks, so I had to have a taste. It wasn’t going to kill me. Good thing we had some meat on the plate – the salad is not meant to be eaten alone, I felt like giving you a word of caution before you do that. I’m generally very nice. So don’t turn up your noses; it’s definitely worth a try. Who knows? You could even like it!

Johann's Steak Supper (8038)

For 2 servings.

  • 60ml water
  • ½ teaspoon sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 40g raisins
  • 180g grated carrots
  • 20ml mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
  • pepper, to taste

Put the water, sugar, salt and lemon juice in a small heavy-based saucepan and bring it to a boil. Pour this onto the raisins and wait for them to get nice and plump. Drain the raisins from the water and set aside to let them cool.

In a small mixing bowl, tip in the drained raisins, together with the grated carrots, mayonnaise and white wine vinegar. Give everything a good mix, and taste for seasoning, adding some pepper if you prefer. I add loads. Best served with steak and potatoes!

Rob.

(Recipe adapted from The Professional Chef, 7th ed., The Culinary Institute of America, John Wiley & Sons NY, 2002.)

One thought on “Carrot and Raisin Salad”

Leave a comment

