Apricot and Date Loaf

Apricot-&-Date-Loaf-(4354)

A few weeks ago I bought a packet of dried apricots for a lamb tagine recipe I wanted to try. I never got round to it, no matter how many times I included it in my New Year resolutions (which proved to me that these don’t work). Since I did not want the apricots to remain in my pantry forever I preferred to use them in another recipe rather than letting them go bad or worse – eating them as is! So without further rambling (as is often the case with me) here is a really yummy cake for you to try. This makes 1 loaf.

  • 150g plain flour
  • 70g wholemeal flour
  • 85g light brown sugar (you can use granulated white if you like)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • the zest of 1 orange
  • 65g dried apricots, chopped
  • 50g dried pitted dates, chopped
  • 175ml milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 30g butter, melted

Place a rack in the centre of the oven and preheat at 190°C (375 F). Grease a loaf tin with butter and some flour or use baking paper.

In a large bowl combine plain and wholemeal flours, baking powder, orange zest and the dried fruits.

In a smaller bowl beat the milk with the eggs and the melted butter. Pour this over mixture of dry ingredients and mix everything together until just moistened.

Place batter into your greased loaf tin for around 40 mins. (Always test by inserting a knife or a skewer. If this comes out clean then your cake is done.) Leave to cool for 10 mins and remove the cake from the tin.

Enjoy!

Rob x

3 thoughts on “Apricot and Date Loaf”

  1. as soon as I’ll have some free time (momentarily studying for exams) will definitely try this out. easy and looks yummyy!! well done rob!!

Leave a comment

